27
May
12

I got them…

Long time I was searching for the good old Thumbshifter to simplify the bike as much as possible. Those Thumbies were long time difficult to get, on ebay they reach very high prices for nearly 20year old stuff and those solutions made with Adapters and Bar-end shifters are also very pricey. Radspannerei a cycle shop in Berlin found them on a cycle fair and put them in stock. A pair of 3X9 indexed Thumb shifters I call mine now, not very cheap stuff too (around 60Euro/ pair), but they look  and work great. I really love that stuff…


2 Responses to “I got them…”


  1. May 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Nice mate! I found Suntour ones on Ebay a while ago, but I believe the guy is sold out by now. They are 3-7/8 Speed Suntour but set to friction 9 Speed works too. I think they had cost me 30€ with shipping. To be honest, I actually like my indexed XT shifters quite a lot and XT has never let me down! But as the devil is a squirrel😉 I contemplate taking the right shifter for the rear derailleur with me a spare, just in case…

    • May 27, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      As far as I remember that was you who gave me the idea of the Thumbies😉 The Suntour shifter are suitable with Shimano (while friction it doesn´t matter)? To carry a spare one is a good idea, thus the arms are much more exposed than that from rapidfires eg. In Nepal I found Thumbies en masse, low quality plastic crap but in emergency better than nothing. The old original XT stuff is dealt like gold…


Leave a Reply

